Homebrew Adventures – Watermelon Wheat

Above is an image of the bottom of my carboy after I bottled a batch of a watermelon wheat ale. That slurry-looking stuff is the trub, the layer of sediment that appears at the bottom of the fermenter after yeast has completed the bulk of the fermentation. As you can tell, it’s taken on a nice watermelon haze from the color of the juice and pulp that I included in the fermenter. The beer itself wasn’t hued red or pink – it was a regular-old clear golden color.

I have no idea how this beer is going to turn out. I made some newbie homebrewer mistakes during the brewday process, but I’ll withhold judgment until that first properly carbonated bottle is opened. All I want is a beer that is fit to be poured down my gullet and not the drain.

2 thoughts on “Homebrew Adventures – Watermelon Wheat

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close